NDD Overview

Neurodevelopmental disorders are disabilities associated primarily with the brain functioning of the neurological system and brain. Bangladesh has ratified the United Nations Convention on the Rights of persons with disabilities and passed a law in 2013 for the persons with disabilities titled, “The Disability Rights and Protection Act-2013” act enacted for the purpose of repealing and re-enacting existing laws relating to the establishment and protection of the rights of person with disabilities. According to the act there are 12 type of disability.

  • Autism or Autism Spectrum disorder
  • Physical disability
  • Mental illness leading to disability
  • Visual disability
  • Speech disability
  • Intellectual disability
  • Hearing disability
  • Deaf-blindness
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Down Syndrome
  • Multiple disability
  • Other disability

A Trust is created to establish the protection of rights of persons with neurodevelopmental disability as well as “Protection of persons with neuro-developmental disability Trust act-2013. Four types of neurodevelopmental disabilities mentioned in this act, which are:

  • Autism or Autism Spectrum disorders
  • Down Syndrome
  • Intellectual disability
  • Cerebral Palsy.